The Honest Mommy

Uncensored thoughts on parenting & more

The Honest Mommy would like a break from the kitchen, please July 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — lotsofopinions @ 3:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

This morning, from 6:15 – 9:30 a.m., I spent nearly all of my time on the following tasks

  • getting myself dressed
  • searching frantically for an uninterrupted 5-minute period during which I could wash my hands, dry my hands, and put my contacts in
  • dealing with children and watercolor paints
  • getting DS1 and DS2 dressed
  • directing DS2 to do his morning routine
  • preparing and serving breakfast to DS1 and DS2
  • working on laundry (folding, putting away)
  • wiping down bathroom
  • washing dishes
  • emptying dishwasher
  • wiping down kitchen sink
  • managing sibling squabbles and crises
  • getting breakfasts number two and three for DS2
  • getting DS2 ready to go outside, then come inside, times two
At 9:30 I finally was ready to sit down and have some breakfast. I had worked so, so, so hard to get everything squared away and everyone taken care of, just so I could have a few minutes to eat in peace.
But, no such luck. When DS2 saw that I was having hard-boiled egg and cheese, he immediately wanted some. So, the egg which I had carefully heated up (twice) for myself ended up going to DS2. I ended up eating while standing at the kitchen counter and doling out bites of food to DS2 (I don’t like to give him too much at once in case he decides to throw it or just not eat it).
Fast forward to 10:30 a.m. The kids were outside playing for 15-20 minutes (yay!), then both came inside and DS2 asked for a snack. (This is the child who I had to force to finish his breakfast because he declared himself “full,” so that I could actually “finish” cleaning the kitchen).
You know what? I do not want to go into the kitchen and come up with a snack, dirty more dishes, create crumbs. I just spent my whole morning, up to this point, trying to “finish” cleaning the kitchen so I could get out of there.
Yes, I am crabby. No, I am not in the running for Mother of the Year.
 

4 Responses to “The Honest Mommy would like a break from the kitchen, please”

  1. Ravyn Says:

    So frustrating. Nice to hear you admit that mornings like these (which sound soooooo familiar to me) make you crabby! Me too. Around here we refer to the constant cycle of breakfast and dishes as breakfast and re-breakfast and 3rd-attempt-breakfast (wherein I feed whatever I attempt to make for myself to my kids instead).

  2. Domestiç Reclusë Says:

    No wonder why they sometimes call it, “Hell’s kitchen”, cuz I swear that’s the fugliest, most time-consuming beast I’ve had to slay on a daily basis. One day, when *not if* I win the lotto or some huge inheritance, the first thing I’m spending that $ on is a full-time Chef & kitchen cleaning folks! 😉 But for today, I’m walking away from it & ordering in some pizza. Wanna come over? 😉 BYOPP (Bring Your Own Paper Plates)

  3. Gosh I can so relate! My 3 yr old is never out of the kitchen, if it’s not she is hungry it is that she wants something to drink. My kitchen usually don’t get cleaned till after supper and there is no more need to go in there 21415611 times a day, haha! Great post!

  4. lotsofopinions Says:

    Thanks for the comments, ladies. Nice to know that I’m not alone!


Leave a Reply

