The Honest Mommy

Uncensored thoughts on parenting & more

Working on 5yo’s attitude November 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lotsofopinions @ 3:13 pm
Tags: , ,

Well, this has been an interesting morning with my 5yo son, Adam. His preschool, which he loves, starts at 9 a.m. It is 9:09 a.m. as I type this, and we have not dropped him off at school yet. The reason is that I will not take him to school until he can go through the process of getting dressed, going out to the van, etc., without misbehaving or being sassy.

I thought we were going to “make it” on our last attempt, but while he was waiting for me to strap his younger brother into the van, Adam banged on the outside of his door with his show-and-tell bag “because [he] wanted to get in.”

Um, no. Not acceptable. I will not accept the possibility of damaging the van or the contents of his show-and-tell bag just because he is feeling impatient and sassy.

I am probably a little more strict than other parents. I feel it is worth it in the long run to address these issues now. I realize we won’t be able to do this once he starts kindergarten, but for now I will use the leverage that his love of preschool gives us in order to shape his thinking and behavior.

One. Step. At. A. Time.

 

Leave a Reply

