The Honest Mommy

Uncensored thoughts on parenting & more

Feeling a little glum today September 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lotsofopinions @ 10:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

Late in the afternoon I realized that I was starting to feel a little down and low on energy.

I guess the reasons are:

  • Yesterday I received news that a family friend had passed away.
  • Lately we have been disciplining 5yo Adam a lot, to the point where I “miss” the fun things that he does and that we do together. When he misses out, I do, too.
  • I’m trying to stay within Weight Watchers Points for the day, and it takes energy to keep from turning to food to soothe myself.
  • The last several days, I have had more time to myself than usual, which is definitely a good thing. However, with all the time I’ve been spending on hobbies (at the computer), I think I’m feeling detached from and unmotivated about the everyday grind stuff like cleaning, cooking, laundry, and so on.
  • Knowing that winter is coming has me concerned about how I’m going to get through the winter with a 2yo who insists on going outside to play every chance he gets. And when he can’t go outside, it is exhausting to manage his fussiness and naughtiness. Many times I feel like we have a house full of toys (not literally, thank heavens) and nothing that he is interested in.

The kids will be in bed in two hours, and Hubby is home from work and aware that I’m having an “off” day.

Here’s wishing all of you moms a good rest of the day!

 

2 Responses to “Feeling a little glum today”

  1. Haley Says:

    Hey! Sorry to hear you’re having an off-day. I feel like I’ve been there for the last week or so myself actually. Nothing really terrible has happened, but it just seems like I’m in a SAHM funk. I especially can empathize with what you said about disciplining your older child. My oldest daughter (3 yo) has been super-difficult lately with temper tantrums and refusing to obey me when I tell her to do something the first time. It seems like whenever she gets the slightest bit bored she starts to misbehave. My husband has actually started to take away a toy (temporarily) as punishment when she acts up, but like you said, it seems like my girls would rather do anything BUT play with their toys! Anyway, I hope things get better for you this week. I really enjoy reading your blog!

  2. lotsofopinions Says:

    Hi Haley,
    Thank you for your encouragement. It’s a new day and I’m expecting to feel a little more with-it today. I’m going to limit my computer time and that will force me to keep moving throughout the day, doing little things here and there and keeping engaged with the household at large.
    Hope you have a good day, and good luck with your 3yo!


Leave a Reply

