The Honest Mommy

Uncensored thoughts on parenting & more

Just another manic … Sunday September 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lotsofopinions @ 5:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

I knew that being a mom would be a lot of work. But honestly, I never imagined how hard it would be. I never imagined how difficult it would be to keep on keepin’ on, day after day after day after day.

I didn’t realize how tough it would be to go to bed on Friday night knowing that the weekend held in store yet more of the same … preparing and serving snacks, cleaning the kitchen about 12 times per day, constantly working on the laundry, helping little ones with the potty, keeping little ones out of danger, giving baths, putting children to bed. Meanwhile, trying to tend to my marriage, make nutritious food choices, stay on top of anything “special” that’s coming up (like holidays or birthdays), spend time doing things that fill me up (like praying, reading, or doing anything enjoyable at all).

Weekends can be pretty rough on me, perhaps just as rough as weekdays, albeit in a different manner. Our church schedule just doesn’t jive with my youngest (22 months) child’s nap schedule, so it’s not uncommon for me to stay home and tend to Mark while Hubby takes Adam (5 yrs old) to church. This morning, Hubby left at 8:30 so he could run the soundboard for worship team practice. Hubby and Adam stayed for 9:30 Sunday School, and then, of course, for 10:45 church.

This morning I was fortunate that Mark “slept in” until 5:45 a.m. After jumping into my clothes, I whisked him out the door right away so that he wouldn’t wake up Adam. We did a grocery run and returned home around 7 a.m. The  next hour was filled with getting breakfast for the kids, putting away groceries, and tending to Mark’s crabbiness and giant tantrum (this child is, once again, overtired). And, oh yeah, brushing my teeth and grabbing something for myself to eat. Hubby was up and helped out some, but he was also busy getting showered and ready for church.

By the time Hubby and Adam left for church at 8:30 this morning, I was worn out, wigged out, and not looking forward to keeping Mark happy until naptime at 11:30.

Now it’s noon, and “the boys” will be back from church soon. It’s always a bit stressful for me when they come home because Mark is napping, and I get pretty wound up about keeping things quiet. It is no exaggeration to say that my entire day rests on whether Mark gets a good nap! So the moment Hubby and Adam come home, it will be a circus of getting Adam to put his things away (quietly) and settle down for lunch (quietly), meanwhile trying to keep on an even keel and not raise Hubby’s ire, because he thinks I’m far too particular about keeping things quiet.

Plus, I have been On Duty for a good six hours now, and mentally/emotionally, I feel ready to hide myself in a cage for a few hours, which is a far cry from what the next hour holds for me.

Moms, I would love to hear what your weekends are like!

 

4 Responses to “Just another manic … Sunday”

  1. Sabrina Says:

    Yelling yelling and more yelling! Ugh why cant kids just listen once in a while geez. I have been trying to lighten up. You know not take things so seriously… I went and got McDonalds for dinner YAY mommy rules… Then I made sure I got outside today cause I havent been at all lately. I took the kids for a walk around the block which was nice… then we get home and the kids want to be crazy and whine and just straight up not listen. I have been yelling like a banshee for the past 30 min and just need a freeze ray so they have to stay still and quite for a few seconds.

    My husband doesnt have to work tomorrow so he will be living in the garage again. Hes making me a dresser (which would have been cheaper to buy) and its taking a while. So I havent had any kind of brake from the kids for 4 weeks. YAY

  2. lotsofopinions Says:

    Ah, so I’m not the only one who has stressful, exhausting weekends!

    Darn home projects, I know how that goes. Our home is older and always seems to need something or another, which takes up a lot of weekend hours. Maybe your husband could schedule an hour or two for you to get away while he’s on kid duty? The dresser can wait; your sanity can’t.

    • Sabrina Says:

      We actually figured out this week that a BIG part of me losing my sanity was because I couldnt finish ANYTHING. We dont have a dresser and my husband has more clothes that most 4 person families combined. I didnt have anywhere to put them away and it seems futile to wash them all since there was no where to put them anyway. I tried to clean out different rooms but most of the stuff was my husbands from before we got married and he seemed unwilling or able to let it go so it just sat there collecting dust and cluttering up my home.

      Its so funny. Since I have started telling my husband how unhappy I am… how angry I am and just how upset I am over all he seems to be taking me a lot more seriously. He has always thought that I had it easy. Now that I sat him down (crying) and told him how much I just want to run away from this house and the mess he gets it and how much fun it REALLY ISNT! lol

      I pray it keeps up and moving forward. If not I am liable to commit an arson in the front yard and it will be all of my husbands old stuff! lol

      All in all at this point I am willing to wait until next weekend for some sanity time. The dresser, though not going to be perfect and the draws will stick and drive me crazy, it will be a blessing to have. I might be able to actually finish cleaning one room in the house and have peace about it. Bedtime is coming up Praise God for the quite hours of the evening. I look forward to them every night.

      • lotsofopinions Says:

        Hi Sabrina,

        I am glad to hear that your husband is starting to “get” where you’re at. Here’s hoping that things continue to improve, bit by bit!

        I know it definitely helps me when my husband is aware of my status, especially nowadays when I feel more free to tell him how I’m really doing without worrying so much about him judging me for being stressed, overwhelmed, etc.


Leave a Reply

