The Honest Mommy

Uncensored thoughts on parenting & more

A few thoughts on GTD September 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — lotsofopinions @ 8:28 pm
Tags: , ,

I have been soooo busy couponing lately that I haven’t done much blogging!

Just a quick post to say that I think that GTD is really, really good for my mental health and overall confidence level. Just knowing that I have a central place (my GTD Coordinator) to keep track of all the stuff going on in my life, all of my commitments, and so on helps me feel a lot more at ease about my life.

One thing about being a parent is that things are always changing. It can be anxiety-producing when you just get comfortable with a certain routine or whatever, and WHAM! things change yet again. The fact that my 4yo son starts preschool soon fills me with a certain amount of anxiety (even though it shouldn’t!) is tempered by my reliance on GTD and on having capture tools stationed in various places like my car, diaper bag, and so on. As a mom, I don’t want to be worrying about forgetting new commitments and projects that come up. Relying on GTD minimizes this worrying.

I must say that I am far, far, far from perfect in my use of GTD. As David Allen says, it is ridiculously easy to fall off of the GTD wagon (and also ridiculously easy to get back on the wagon, thankfully). With two kids running around and creating general mayhem, it is easy to simply forget to check my lists and capture my thoughts. However, it is completely worth the effort it takes to “do” GTD, and I am thankful that GTD came into my life years ago.

As my kids get older, I will teach them age-appropriate GTD concepts. What could be a more useful life tool?

 

Leave a Reply

