The Honest Mommy

Uncensored thoughts on parenting & more

A SAHM ponders FlyLady and “Getting Things Done” July 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — lotsofopinions @ 6:45 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Over the past few days, I have had a little more time than usual to enjoy some quiet and to gather my thoughts. On a whim, I pulled out Ready for Anything by David Allen, creator of the Getting Things Done (GTD) system. In the past, I have used GTD in various forms (electronic, paper), but haven’t used that system for several months.

Reading bits of Ready for Anything has gotten me thinking about what my responsibilities are and how I use my time. I am also a follower of FlyLady, though I must say some of my routines have gotten rather loosey-goosey as of late.

It occurred to me that FlyLady doesn’t necessarily help you capture and process all of the “stuff” of your life, like GTD does. But FlyLady does create a system where the really mundane details of your life (which I personally sum up as kitchen-bathroom-laundry-floors) are taken care of in the form of daily or weekly routines, so that you can “get out and play” as FlyLady says.

Both FlyLady and GTD have the goal of allowing you as an individual to feel at peace with your house and all of your various  commitments (commitments to your work, your spouse, your kids, your health, your finances, and so on).

It occurs to me that if I could/would do the following things, my life could be both more calm and more productive:

1) Use a simple notecard system(aka The Hipster PDA) for GTD. Notecards aren’t perfect, but they are SOMETHING. The main point is to have a central respository for Next Actions, Project List, and so on.

2) Implement areas of FlyLady that I have never really implemented in the past (getting up before the kids do, choosing a day for grocery shopping, etc.).

Item 1 seems very do-able; once I slip back into GTD thinking, it’s fairly smooth sailing (although I never was very consistent about the Weekly Review component).

Item 2 seems…. daunting. Kid_2 gets up as early as 6 a.m., and I loathe the thought of getting up BEFORE then. Also, I’ve always had a hang-up about committing to a certain day of the week for grocery shopping.

Clearly, I have a lot more thinking to do about getting my life in order. More posts about GTD and productivity will follow, I’m sure!

 

Leave a Reply

