The Honest Mommy

Uncensored thoughts on parenting & more

Sleep schedule for 3-year-old April 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — lotsofopinions @ 1:53 pm
Tags: , , ,

Still trying to figure out an optimal sleep schedule/rhythm for my 3.5-year-old, Adam. Yesterday he finally fell asleep for his afternoon nap around 3:00 p.m. He was still sleeping at 4:00 p.m., and normally I would be very diligent about waking him up at that time, in order to not mess up his bedtime. 

I really wanted to try something different, so I let him sleep until he woke up, on his own, around 5:00 p.m. I was sure he would be up super late last night, but he wasn’t. He fell asleep around 8-8:30 p.m., which is normal for him, AND…. he slept until almost 7:00 a.m. this morning, which is certainly “sleeping in” for him.

So far today, he seems to be in very good spirits, and there has been very little arguing, whining, pouting, and so on (all signs of him being tired).

I’m wondering if I should go against everything I’ve read, and just let his naps happen, whether they go after 4 p.m. or not. I think it’s worth a try, since what we’ve been doing to this point hasn’t exactly been wildly successful.

 

Leave a Reply

