The Honest Mommy

Uncensored thoughts on parenting & more

Go me! and, thoughts on decluttering February 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — lotsofopinions @ 9:21 pm
Tags: ,

Today I have weeded out at least 20 books to get rid of. It feels good!

Also, after my husband got home from work, he went through DVDs and chose about ten to get rid of, including some boxed sets. He picked out a bunch of CDs to get rid of as well.

It always amazes me how much stuff we find to get rid of. As in, why didn’t I get rid of this the last time I went through this stuff? I have certainly found it to be the case that decluttering happens in stages. On one particular¬†day, I might not be ready to get rid of something. Three months later, I have no problems parting with that same item.

It’s interesting what things go through my mind while decluttering. Some things are hard to get rid of, because doing so would be admitting that I never am going to read that book, pursue that hobby, and so on. Getting rid of certain things seems to represent a failure to live up to my own expectations, or even to others’ expectations.

For example, I took a watercolor class with my MIL a few years ago. I still have all of the supplies, but I haven’t touched them since the class ended. It isn’t likely that I will pursue watercolor painting anytime soon, or ever. And since my relationship with my MIL has gone down the tubes over the past year or so, it isn’t likely that we will spend time together doing this hobby. Wow — I really should get rid of that stuff!

 

Leave a Reply

