The Honest Mommy

Uncensored thoughts on parenting & more

A day in the life of a FlyBaby January 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — lotsofopinions @ 10:57 pm
Tags: , , ,

It’s nearly 5 p.m. I haven’t shined my sink yet, or done the other things in my daily FlyLady routine (shine bathroom, swiffer floors, etc.).

We were out of the house until about 12:30 p.m. Neither of my kids has been especially high maintenance today, so I’m not entirely sure where all of the time between lunchtime and now went. I would guess 45 minutes pumping breastmilk, 1-2 hours feeding, changing, etc., the baby, 15 minutes reading Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child, 1 hour of housework,45 minutes preparing/eating food. Hmmm, not too surprising that 5 p.m. has snuck up on me.

Some days are just like this, especially if we are gone in the morning at all. While I would like to do my routine every single day, some days it just doesn’t happen. And that’s okay, because perfection is not attainable. Also, since I do my routine items most days of the week, I can coast through off-days without things getting too out of control.

Yes, a morning routine is supposed to get done in the morning, but I am currently overwhelmed just trying to get myself and the 2 kids out the door in the morning. I have always approached my routine this way — I see my routine as something I try to get accomplished each day, time of day being quite immaterial. It’s not unheard of for me to shine the bathroom at 4 o’clock in the afternoon. Better late than never! And the bathroom shines just the same.

 

Leave a Reply

