The Honest Mommy

Uncensored thoughts on parenting & more

Organization and the overwhelmed mom January 12, 2009

Filed under: FlyLady,Parenting,Personal Struggles,Productivity — lotsofopinions @ 11:04 pm
Tags: , ,

Going from having one child to two, I am amazed at how organized I (feel I) need to be. By “organized,” I don’t mean having everything in neat, labelled bins. I mean having to use my noggin’ every moment of the day to try to stay one step ahead of the chaos that threatens to overtake my home.

Almost every evening, I write out a rough outline of the evening schedule and its associated to-do’s. When I have a free moment or two, I tackle whatever items I can do at that time. This means that I sometimes take out my contacts or wash my face at 8:00 p.m. I also make an effort to prepare for the next morning; on Sunday nights I make my 3yo’s snack for Monday morning playgroup. (In FlyLady-ese, this is my evening routine.)

Why am I so structured in the evenings?

  1. It is difficult to get out the door on time in the morning. The more I do the night before, the smoother my mornings go. It is really good for my mental health to know that I just have to flip the switch on the coffeemaker, grab a ready-to-go snack out of the fridge, and so on.
  2. It has been difficult for my 3yo son to get enough sleep lately. As part of our “Sleep Rehab Program,” we want lights out for him to be around 7:30 p.m. If I don’t plan ahead for dinner, bath, and so on, he doesn’t get to bed on time.
  3. In order for me to get my life back together after having baby # 2, and have enough mental and physical energy to do things like take care of myself and lose weight, I need to get to sleep as early as possible, as often as possible. Therefore, the more efficiently I use my time in the evenings, the earlier I can get to bed. (As FlyLady says every evening, Get to bed!)

I don’t know whether other moms feel the need to be this organized. Comments?

 

2 Responses to “Organization and the overwhelmed mom”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Hi I am new to your blog. I have been a part time fly baby for almost a year. Still trying to put it all together. I have such a hard time with getting us in a routine any tips would be great. I have a 19 month old and a husband. I am a student and would an after school program and sometimes work in the schools. What time do you get up what does your mornings look like. Thanks for the blog please keep it up!!

    • lotsofopinions Says:

      Hi Kelly,
      Like you, I am “still trying to put it all together.” But FlyLady says that if you are loving yourself, and doing even one FlyLady “thing”, then you are FLYing, period. It’s funny you should ask what time I get up in the mornings, because I have been thinking about that a lot. I finally realized that if I really want my mornings to go smoother, I have to get up about 1/2 hour earlier than I have been. It is tricky because my 3-month-old gets up at different times, depending on the day.
      Have you used FlyLady’s getting started system? I can’t remember what it’s called, but it’s on her website.


Leave a Reply

